News menu

Filter News By Year


The resistance of multilayer floors

In order to establish whether a multilayer floor (laminate, resilient or wood composite) is suitable for the environment in which we want to install it, there are some fundamental parameters to observe, in particular the abrasion resistance class and the use class.

Both of these values are certified in accordance with an international standard that establishes a classification system that makes it possible to objectively understand whether the surface we are going to install has a certain level of resistance to footfall and wear, including its resistance to scratches.

All Skema products belonging to Sistema, the category that includes the Living, Sintesy and Evertech lines, are tested and certified, making it possible to determine their resistance and thus indicate the most appropriate use.


The class of use certifies the strength and resistance of the floors and determines the recommended use environment.
It defines how suitable surfaces are for domestic or commercial use and is expressed in numbers: from 21 to 23 for domestic use, from 31 to 34 for commercial use.

So, for example, class 21 has a low load capacity and is suitable for environments such as bedrooms, 22 is ideal for living rooms, dining rooms and hallways, 23 which is for intensive domestic use indicates those surfaces suitable for intensive use such as the kitchen or stairs.
In the commercial sphere we go from 31 which indicates floors suitable for conference rooms or hotel rooms, then we move on to more intense use, such as in schools, hotel lobbies, stores, indicated by number 32 until we get to the intense use of multilayer floors indicated by number 34, suitable for shopping malls or large offices.
This is how Skema multilayer floors are placed:

Living: domestic use class 23 and commercial use class 32/33

Evertech: domestic use class 23 and commercial use class 34

Sintesy: Household Use Class 23 and Commercial Use Class 33


The abrasion resistance class of multi-layer floors is established through the taber test and determines the wear resistance of the floor. 
This test subjects the surface to severe stress and is carried out with a machine capable of rubbing the sample intensely for several times. The test is passed if the tested surface does not show changes in surface grain, bleaching or removal of the surface coating.
Also known as Abrasion Class (AC), it covers a range from minimum AC1 to maximum AC6, which indicates surfaces suitable for heavy traffic commercial applications.

Here's how Skema surfaces that fall under this classification rank:

Living: AC4 - AC5 - AC6

Evertech: AC6

You can discover all the technical qualities of Sistema surfaces by clicking on each decor or, if you are a professional, you can access the reserved area and download the technical data sheets for each collection.  

Related news